top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLivi Pejo

Adaptive Technology


One of my biggest accomplishments since becoming paralyzed has been learning to use the computer. Before my accident, I was always on the computer – I was a designer for an architecture firm and Monday through Friday I was constantly working on it. Even outside of work I was always writing emails, searching the web or connecting with people on social media.


During my occupational therapy I tried many different adaptive devices for the computer but they were all very difficult for me because I couldn’t move my head. After I got home, I learned about Tobii Eye Tracking. It’s a device and software that allows you to control the computer only with your eyes. The device is a bar with a laser that connects to your pupil, and your eyes act as the mouse. Even if you have no movement, it is super user friendly.


It took me a few months to get comfortable with it but now I can do everything that I was able to do before. I started out just being able to search the web and reading, then I became comfortable with writing and emailing, and a few months ago I retaught myself how to use all the architecture programs that I was using at work. Also, I created this blog myself!


After seeing how much I could do with this device, which I never knew existed before, I wanted to share this information with others out there. I have also shared a quick video of me using the computer. Hope you all find this helpful!



317 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page