top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLivi Pejo

Back to work :)


Never thought I would say this, but I am so happy to be working!!!


Before the accident I was working as a designer at IA Interior Architects. I had worked my butt off to be where I was and I loved what I was doing. Work was a big part of my life and after everything happened, I always wondered if I would design again.


The first year after the accident was a struggle -I was always super busy at work and then I had absolutely nothing to do. I am glad I had my little sisters to hang out with but other than that, there was nothing to keep me busy. Then, one of my nurses told me that one her patients was a lawyer and used eye tracking to type on the computer. So, of course, I was very interested and started looking into it because I had no idea that something like that existed.


In late 2018 I bought the device and, I am not going to lie, it was very difficult to use at first. But after a few months of working with it, I became more and more comfortable with it. My job gave me a practice project to see if I could do it, and after a few months it was a success! Since December I have been working in architecture again and picked up where I left off two years ago. I am working on designing a few corporate offices; creating test-fits, developing floorplans and ceiling plans, 3D modeling, rendering and putting presentations together. Although I am working from home, I can collaborate with everyone in the office and can go in as needed.


It has been great for these past two months and hope it will continue this way. I know a lot of people are hesitant in working while disabled, just like I was. But with all the technology out there, it is amazing what you can do if you just put your mind to it. It does take a little planning ahead and you have to talk to Social Security and long term disability, but it is definitely doable.

839 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page