top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLivi Pejo

Insurance should cover it...but it doesn't



So this post is a complaint. Sorry but I just need to say it...


Since I have been home, my family and I have been through so many challenges - expenses for spinal cord injuries are unbelievable, insurance barely covers anything that I need. For example, it only covers 60 days of nursing and with my kind of injury, as someone that cant even breathe on their own, I need 24/7 nursing. We tried to talk to insurance and got letters from doctors, but nothing changed. And because of this, my mom who was an engineer at the time was then forced to work more from home to watch over me but after a few months of doing that she got laid off and still hasn’t gotten another job because I cant get a nurse. Another issue is that they don’t even cover the nerve pain medicine that I was on or some respiratory items that I need. The insurance also only covers 30 hours of physical therapy a year. As someone that cannot move on their own, I think I need much more than that.


It is very disappointing to see how little help there is for people with spinal cord injuries. If anyone has found a solution to this please let me know!

360 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page